Connect with us

Premier League

Three Points at Stake Nonnegotiable, Says Emmanuel Makama




The Lafia City Stadium comes alive again for the week 21 of the Nigerian Professional Football League fixture between hosts, Nasarawa United and Wikki Tourists of Bauchi.
Wikki Tourists will be in a bullish mood after recording an emphatic victory over Abia Warriors in their last game in Bauchi.
Play maker Chukwudi Samuel seems very optimistic about securing the full points in Lafia. “We are very determined more than ever before to get a win in this fixture considering the high level of commitment of both the new management and the players. I’m pretty sure we will soon return to our rightful place at the top of the log”, he remarked.
Meanwhile captain of the home side, Emmanuel Makama told that Wikki Tourist poses no threat to his side’s ambition of at least finishing in the top three bracket at the end of the season.
“With all due respect, Wikki Tourist will only come and tour the beautiful city of Lafia before returning empty handed as the three points on deck are nonnegotiable”, he concluded.
Earlier this season the ‘Solid Miners’ as Nasarawa United are fondly called, played out a goalless draw in the first leg and will want to win this tie to consolidate on their position on the NPFL table having lost their last fixture to River United in Port Harcourt.
The last time Nasarawa United hosted Wikki Tourist was at the Apar Aku Stadium in Makurdi with Abdulkadir Aminu striking late to secure the full points for the miners.
Nasarawa United currently occupies the 11th position on the NPFL log having accumulated a total of 27 points from 20 games while Wikki Tourists stand at 16th on the log having accumulated a total of 24 points from same number of games.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and the country’s most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *