Connect with us


CAF Awards: Okocha, Mikel and Amuneke among legends expected to light up Marrakech




Quantity-wise, Nigeria may not weigh much in this year’s CAF Awards which hold in the next few hours in the Atlas Mountain city of Marrakech in Morocco on Monday.

But the country has quality representatives who are most likely to win the prime awards for the African Footballer of the Year – Men and Women – in addition to possibly winning the Goalkeeper of the Year in the Women’s category.

Besides that, Nigeria, with seven, has the highest number of legends invited for the ceremony which will hold at the at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech.



Headlining the seven Nigerian legends expected at the ceremony is Austin Jay Jay Okocha, who inspite of his stellar performances, agonisingly missed out in 1998 and 2003.

Also invited is Mikel Obi who also missed out in 2013, 10 years after that of Okocha. He will be joined by another Nigerian legend, Emmanuel Amuneke, winner of the award in 1994.

Other Nigerian legends expected to grace this year’s CAF Awards are: Mercy Akide, Onome Ebi, Perpetua Nkwocha and Precious Dede.

Among the prestigious guests from other countries who have confirmed their presence are football legends, music and art celebrities and prestigious names from other sporting disciplines, including Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Abedi Pele (Ghana), El Hadji Diouf (Senegal), Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo),  Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso), Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia), Ahmed Hassan (Egypt), and Patrick Mboma (Cameroon),  among others.

The 35 legends by countries

  • Nigeria – 7
  • Cameroon – 6
  • Senegal – 4
  • Cote d’Ivoire – 3
  • Ghana -3
  • Burkina Faso -2
  • Guinea -2
  • South Africa -2
  • Zambia – 2
  • Egypt 1
  • DR Congo -1
  • Togo -1
  • Morocco -1
  • Mozambique -1



Full List  of Legends  

  • Augustine Jay-Jay Okocha- Nigeria
  • Emmanuel Amuneke- Nigeria
  • Mikel John Obi- Nigeria
  • Mercy Akide – Nigeria
  • Onome Ebi – Nigeria
  • Perpetua Nkwocha- Nigeria
  • Precious Dede – Nigeria
  • Thomas N’Kono- Cameroon
  • Samuel Eto’o – Cameroon
  • Gaelle Enganamouit- Cameroon
  • Geremi Njitap- Cameroon
  • Patrick  M’Boma-Cameroon
  • Rigobert Song-Cameroon
  • El Hadji  Diouf- Senegal
  • Demba Ba- Senegal
  • Khalilou Fadiga- Senegal
  • Mamadou Niang-Senegal
  • Salomon Kalou- Cote d’Ivoire
  • Clementine Toure- Cote d’Ivoire
  • Siaka Tiene- Cote d’Ivoire
  • Abedi ‘Pele’ Ayew – Ghana
  • Anthony Baffoe- Ghana
  • Alberta Sackey – Ghana
  • Jonathan Pitroipa- Burkina Faso
  • Charles Kabore- Burkina Faso
  • Titi Camara- Guinea
  • Pascal  Feindouno- Guinea
  • Siphiwe Tshabalala- South Africa
  • Janine van Wyk- South Africa
  • Kalusha Bwalya- Zambia
  • Rainford Kalaba-Zambia
  • Herita Ilunga- DR Congo
  • Ahmed Hassan-Egypt
  • Manuel Jose Luis Bucuane- Mozambique
  • Emmanuel Adebayor – Togo
  • Mustapha El Haddaoui- Morocco

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.