Connect with us


Again, Nigeria football fires blank as no Nigerian goal is shortlisted in CAF Goal of the Year



Exactly a week to the 2023 African Footballer of the Year Awards at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick in Marrakech, Morocco. Marrakesh, Morocco, CAF has revealed the shortlist for “Goal of the Year” in which fans will do the voting to decide the winner.

There are 12 listed from various CAF competitions during the year. None of the goal listed was scored by a Nigerian. It thus means that Nigeria’s sole hope of winning anything in the men’s category is hinged on Victor Osimhen, the lead candidate in the prime award – African Footballer of the Year.


The voting will end on Friday, 8December, three days to the award ceremony.



Here are the nominees;

  1. Alex Ngonga (DR Congo, TP Mazembe) – TP Mazembe vs AS Real
  2. Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso, Bournemouth) – Burkina Faso vs Eswatini
  3. Jennifer Owusuaa (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa) – Ampem Darkoa vs Sporting Club Casablanca
  4. Khaled Bousseliou (Algeria, USM Alger) – AS FAR vs USM Alger
  5. Mahmoud Abdelmenem ‘Kahraba’ (Egypt, Al Ahly) – Al Ahly vs Al Hilal
  6. Mahmoud Saber (Egypt, Pyramids/Zed FC) – Egypt vs Morocco
  7. Mohamed Dhaoui (Tunisia, Al Ahly) – Tunisia vs Zambia
  8. Nadege Nguessan Koffi (Cote d’Ivoire, Sporting Club Casablanca) – Atletico FC VS Sporting Club Casablanca
  9. Patient Mwamba (DR Congo, TP Mazembe) – TP Mazembe vs AS Real
  10. Saul Coco (Equatorial Guinea, Las Palmas) – Equatorial Guinea vs Botswana
  11. Teboho Mokoena (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns) – Mamelodi Sundowns vs Al Ahly
  12. Refilwe Tebogo Tholekele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns) – Mamelodi Sundowns vs Sporting Club Casablanca

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading