Connect with us


MOC, LOC for Gateway 2024 NSF begin two-day meeting in Ikenne



The Main Organising Committee and the Local Organising Committee for the National Sports Festival scheduled to be hosted by Ogun State will start a two-day meeting on Monday.


Members of the two bodies arrived the beyond Limits Football Academy Hotel in the Remo Stars Stadium Complex on Sunday.


They are due to begin proceedings on Monday  at 10am.


After the early morning meeting both bodies will embark on a tour of the Gateway Stadium in Sagamu and the Remo Stars Stadium, venues for football matches and some indoor and outdoor events for the 22nd edition of the National Sports Festival.


On Tuesday, similar facility visits will be made to the sporting complexes in Abeokuta.


The MOC is headed by Ismaila Abubakar, Permanent Secretary of Sports Development with Bukola Olapade, (Chairman LOC) as Vice Chairman.



Other members of the committee are Dr. Paul Onyeudo, Olufehinti Olusegun, Mohammed Manga, Gregory Zi, Ms Fadeke Fadeyibi,  Abolore Alanamu, Patrick Okeke, Mrs. Amaka Ashiofu, Prof. Olawale Moronkola,  Habu Gumel, Sunday Odebode, Emmanuel Utobo, Bamiduro Olumide and Brendan Ndifon.


The LOC on the other hand has Tilewa Adebajo as co-chairman and Kweku Tandoh as tje executive secretary.



Some of the other members are Falilat Ogunkoya, Modele Sarafa Yusuf, Emma Igbinosa, Dr. Ademola Are and Kunle Solaja.


On Tuesday, the members will travel to Abeokuta in the morning for facilities tour while the LOC will hold its own meeting later in the afternoon.


LOC boss, Olopade told our correspondent at the weekend that all was set for the meeting which will kick start preparation for the Ogun 2023 games in concrete terms.



Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading