Connect with us


African Footballer of the Year likely winner, Osimhen set to eternally lead goal scorers’ chart to Cote d’Ivoire 2023




There have been 261 goals scored in 110 matches played so far as the qualifying matches for Cote d’Ivoire gets to conclusion this weekend. Six of them are own goals.

Nigeria Victor Osimhen leads Senegal’s Sadio Mane with two goals as the qualifying series for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations comes to a close. The Super Eagles face hapless Sao Tome and Principe who are already eliminated.

Senegal, who like Nigeria, already qualified also have eliminated Rwanda to face in the last match day. Like Nigeria, Senegal also play at home.



Although the last match day is not a direct confrontation of Nigeria and Senegal, it is an indirect confrontation of Osimhen and Mane.

Goals from the two will give a definite picture of the lead scorer in the qualifying series.

At the moment, Osimhen sit atop with seven goals – great thanks to the four goals he scored in the Match Day 2 against Sao Tome & Principe in a 10-0 rout.

Three other goals in two matches against Sierra Leone put his total at seven.

He could be upstaged at the top position if he fails to score against Sao Tome & Principe on Sunday in Uyo and if Mane scores more than two goals against Rwanda.


Victor Osimhen’s two goals against Sierra Leone on Sunday did not just aid Nigeria’s victory and subsequent qualification for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, the in-form striker is now the lead scorer in the qualification series.

The brace has taken his total to seven, surpassing Senegal’s Sadio Mané with whom he had earlier tied with five goals.

Leading the scorers’ chat at the preliminary competition of the Africa Cup of Nations as well as his accomplishment at the Serie A last season will obviously swing the pendulum of African Footballer of the Year in favour of Osimhen.

The award was last won by a a Nigerian in 1999 when Nwankwo Kanu was crowned just before the Nigeria-Tunisia Africa Cup of Nations opener in Lagos in 2000.

The award will be made in Rabat Morocco on 11 December.


The Goal Scorers:

7 goals

  • Victor Osimhen – Nigeria

5 goals

  • Sadio Mane – Senegal

4 goals

  • Dango Quattara – Burkina Faso
  • Louis Mafouta – Central African Republic
  • Peter Shalulile – Namibia
  • Patson Daka – Zambia


3 goals

  • Mohamed El Amine Amoura – Algeria
  • Zinho Gano – Guinea Bissau
  • Jorginho – Guinea Bissau
  • Lyle Foster – South Africa
  • Youssef Msakni – Tunisia


2 goals

  • Gelson Dala – Angola
  • Bonfols-Caleb Bimenyimana – Burundi
  • Youssouf M’Changama – Comoros
  • Cedric bakambu – DR Congo
  • Omar Marmoush – Egypt
  • Mostafa Mohamed – Egypt
  • Mohamed Salah – Egypt
  • Federico Bikoro – Equatorial Guinea
  • Emiliao Nsue – Equatorial Guinea
  • Sabelo Ndzinisa – Eswatini
  • Ablie Jallow – Gambia
  • Osman Bukari – Ghana
  • Mohammed Kudus – Ghana
  • Naby Keita – Guinea
  • Chris Kouame – Cote d’Ivoire
  • Ibrahim Sangare – Cote d’Ivoire
  • Ganbadinho Mhango – Malawi
  • Mohamed Camara – Mali
  • El Bilal Toure – Mali
  • Aboubakar Kamara – Mauritania
  • Youssef En-Nesyri – Morocco
  • Geny Catamo – Mozambique
  • Daniel Sosah – Niger
  • Terem Moffi – Nigeria
  • Moses Simon – Nigeria
  • Luis Leal – Sao Tome & Principe
  • Boulaye Dia – Senegal
  • Mustapha Bundu – Senegal
  • August Kargbo – Senegal
  • Zakhele Lepasa – South Africa
  • Saimon Msuva – Tanzania
  • Kodjo Laba – Togo
  • Euloge Placca – Togo
  • Haythem Jouini – Tunisia
  • Lameck Banda – Zambia
  • Kings Kangwa – Zambia

1 goal

1 own goal



Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.