Connect with us

International Football

CAF Awards return to Morocco to celebrate Africa’s finest on 11 December



The hub of African football, Morocco, will again host the CAF Awards which celebrate the stars of African football. Last year’s edition was hosted in Rabat, the green city and capital of Morocco.

This year’s edition is scheduled for 11 December in the same country that boast of basically, the best sporting facility and organisation. With the country having splendid facilities spread across the kingdom, no particular one has been chosen as CAF informed that it will communicate the Moroccan host city in due course.

Last year, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala and Senegal’s Sadio Madio were the stars, winning the top tier awards. While Oshoala may still be in contention for the Woman’s African Footballer of the Year, following her success with FC Barcelona this year.

Similarly, an obvious choice for Africa’s top crown is Nigeria’s in-form striker, Victor Osimhen who has almost become a global phenomenum and a much sort ‘commodity’ by top football clubs.

He is in vantage position to become Nigeria’s first African Footballer of the Year in 33 years. The last Nigerian to win the award is Nwankwo Kanu in 1999. He was given the award by the then CAF President, Issa Hayatou just before the kick-off of the Nigeria-Tunisia match at the 2000 Africa Nations Cup.


This year’s awards holding in a yet to be named Moroccan city will recognise the standout performers from club and country over the past year, with the highlight being the crowning of the CAF African Player of the Year in both the men’s and women’s category.

Mane and Oshoala will face stiff competition from some of continent’s brightest stars who have shone in the last 12 months.

Previous winners of the men category include Ivorian Yaya Tourer (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014), Samuel Eto’o (2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010), Didier Drogba (2006 and 2009), Mohammed Salah (2017, 2018), Riyad Mahrez (2016), Nwankwo Kanu  (1996 and1999), Abedi Pele (1992) and the great George Weah (1995) amongst some of the colourful previous winners.

In the women’s category, while Oshoala has dominated the category in recent years winning in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2022 – she still faces competition from previous winners including Thembi Kgatlana (2018) who are still active. This category counts amongst its previous winners former Super Eagle’s Perpetua Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 and 2011).

Several more honours will also be at stake, including the Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Goal of the Year.


The Interclubs Women’s Player of the Year award, which was introduced last year after the successful launch of the CAF Women’s Champions League, will continue this year.

The period under review for the CAF Awards 2023 spans from September 2022 until June 2023, encompassing an extraordinary chapter in African football history.


CAF African Player of the Year previous winners : (men)

Year Winner
2022 Sadio Mane
2019 Sadio Mane
2018 Mohamed Salah
2017 Mohamed Salah
2016 Riyad Mahrez
2015 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
2014 Yaya Toure
2013 Yaya Toure
2012 Yaya Toure
2011 Yaya Toure
2010 Samuel Eto’o
2009 Didier Drogba
2008 Emmanuel Adebayor
2007 Frederic Kanoute
2006 Didier Drogba
2005 Samuel Eto’o
2004 Samuel Eto’o
2003 Samuel Eto’o
2002 El Hadji Diouf
2001 El Hadji Diouf
2000 Patrick M’Boma
1999 Nwankwo Kanu
1998 Mustapha Hadji
1997 Victor Ikpeba
1996 Nwankwo Kanu
1995 George Weah


Emmanuel Amuneke

Rahidi  Yekini

1992 Abedi Pele



CAF African Player of the Year previous winners : (women)

Year Winner
2022 Asisat Oshoala
2019 Asisat Oshoala
2018 Thembi Kgatlana
2017 Asisat Oshoala
2016 Asisat Oshoala
2015 Gaelle Enganamouit
2014 Asisat Oshoala
2013 (Not awarded)
2012 Genoveva Anonma
2011 Perpetua Nkwocha
2010 Perpetua Nkwocha
2009 (Not awarded)
2008 Noko Matlou
2007 Cynthia Uwak
2006 Cynthia Uwak
2005 Perpetua Nkwocha
2004 Perpetua Nkwocha
2003 Adjoa Bayor
2002 Alberta Sackey
2001 Mercy Akide



Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.