Connect with us

Nigerian Football

Sports journalist, George Aluo, marketing expert, Nkechi Obi head Leagues’ boards



New Sheriff in town at the Nigeria National League, George Aluo

Sports journalist, George Aluo has taken a step up the sports industry as he was on Friday appointed as the chairman of the Nigeria National League. He will be assisted by Khamisu Ahmed Mailantarki.

In similar vein, sports marketing expert, Nkechi Obi will have years of experience to fall back to in raising the standard of the Nigeria Women’s League.

She is the new head of the Nigeria Women Football League.

In completing the composition of the leagues, the NFF also appointed a former deputy governor of Nasarawa State, Silas Agara  as Chairman of the Nigeria Nation-Wide League One.



Agara will have Mr. Adeoye Adepeju as his vice, with Mallam Sabo Muhammed Dutse, Mr. Ogheneochuko Ambakaderemo, Mr. Tunji Onatolu,  Bucknor Akintade and Mallam Danladi Ibrahim as members. Mallam Hassan Abdullahi Garo will be the chief executive officer.


The chairman  of the Nigeria National League, Aluo will be assisted by Khamisu Ahmed Mailantarki. Other members are Yakubu Sarma, Sani Mohammed, Dr. Donald Ikpe, Joseph Uzoma Ebowusim and Dotun Sanusi. The chief executive officer will be Emmanuel Attah .


In the Women’s League, Nkechi Obi will be assisted by   Hussaina Suleman as vice chairman.  Rukayat Lola Alaya, former FIFA referee Hadiza Musa,  Ayodele Thomas, Ms Henrietta Ehiobor and Mr. Danny Nazzal will be members.



The boards will be inaugurated once the President of NFF, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau returns to the country from continental assignments in Morocco and Cote d’Ivoire.





NIGERIA NATIONAL LEAGUE: Mr. George Aluo (Chairman); Hon. Khamisu Ahmed Mailantarki (Vice Chairman); Mr. Yakubu Sarma (Member); Mallam Sani Mohammed (Member); Dr. Donald Ikpe (Member); Chief Joseph Uzoma Ebowusim (Member); Chief Dotun Sanusi (Member); Mr. Emmanuel Attah (CEO).


NIGERIA NATION-WIDE LEAGUE ONE: Hon. Silas Agara (Chairman); Mr. Adeoye Adepeju (Vice Chairman); Mallam Sabo Mohammed Dutse (Member); Mr. Ogheneochuko Ambakaderemo (Member); Mr. Tunji Onatolu (Member); Barr. Bucknor Akintade (Member); Mallam Danladi Ibrahim (Member); Mallam Hassan Abdullahi Garo (CEO).


NIGERIA WOMEN FOOTBALL LEAGUE:  Mrs Nkechi Nneka Obi (Chairman); Hajiya Hussaina Suleman (Vice Chairman); Alhaja Rukayat Lola Alaya (Member); FIFA Hadiza Musa (Member); Mr. Ayodele Thomas (Member); Ms Henrietta Ehiobor (Member); Mr. Danny Nazzal (Member)




Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading