Connect with us


Bendel Insurance win first national title in 43 years



Bendel Insurance are the 2023 Federation Cup winners, their first national victory since 1980.

They defeated Enugu Rangers 1-0 in a final match that recalled similar pairing like that of 1978 and 1981.

It was a pulsating final at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba

Imade Osarenkhoe scored the only goal of the game from the spot for Insurance after Rangers star, Chinemerem Ugwueze, was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box.

Despite giving the penalty, the centre referee for the day, Adebimpe Quadry, also awarded a yellow card to the player who already had a yellow card during the game leading to his sending off.

Rangers returned for the second half and had so many opportunities to restore parity despite playing with a man down.
The game however ended in Insurance favour as they set to represent the country in this year’s CAF Confederation Cup.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading


And now there are four chasing President Federation Cup



Expectedly, one of the two remaining NPFL sides crashed out of the President Federation Cup after Kano Pillars out shot Sunshine Stars in a quarter-finals clash.

Both played 1-1 before Kano Pillars prevailed 5-3 on penalties.

EFCC of Abuja played a goalless draw with Kebbi United but lost out 4-3 on penalties. Kebbi United will now face another Northern sides, El Kanemi Warriors who also had a 2-1 win over Inter of Lagos.

In the semi-finals, Kano Pillars will face Abia Warriors, the sole survivors from the south.

Abia Warriors eliminated Sokoto United 5-4 on penalties after a 1-1 draw.


Quarter-Finals Results

EFCC FC (FCT) 0-0 Kebbi United (Kebbi) – Kebbi United win 4-3 on penalties  

El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) 2-1 Inter Lagos (Lagos)

Abia Warriors (Abia) 1-1 Sokoto United (Sokoto) – Abia Warriors win 5-4 on penalties

Sunshine Stars (Ondo) 1-1 Kano Pillars (Kano) – Kano Pillars win 5-3 on penalties



Kebbi United (Kebbi) Vs El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) – 19/06/24

Abia Warriors (Abia) Vs Kano Pillars (Kano) – 19/06/24

Continue Reading


President Federation Cup: Another Nigeria Premier League club is doomed for elimination



Sunshine Stars and Kano Pillars at the NPL. One of them will be out of President Federation Cup on Wednesday

Only two clubs from the country’s elite division can reach the semi-finals of this year’s President Federation Cup competition, with two of the surviving trio, Sunshine Stars and Kano Pillars, going headlong against each other in one of the quarter-final duels scheduled for the Federal Capital, Abuja on Wednesday.

The venue to be is Area 3 Stadium, where one of the NPFL teams must bite the dust, paving way for the other to progress to the last four.

The other NPFL side, Abia Warriors, are up against giant-killers Sokoto United at the NFF/FIFA Goal Project field inside the MKO Abiola National Stadium Complex. Sokoto United eliminated two-time CAF Champions League winners Enyimba FC in the Round of 16.

El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri will confront surprise packets Inter Lagos at the FCT-Bwari ground, while two surprise qualifiers, EFFC FC and Kebbi United tango at the Sani Abacha Stadium in Kano.  



EFCC FC (FCT) Vs Kebbi United (Kebbi) – Kano – 05/06/24 – 4pm

El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) Vs Inter Lagos (Lagos) – FCT-Bwari – 05/06/24 – 4pm

Abia Warriors (Abia) Vs Sokoto United (Sokoto) – FCT-Goal Project – 05/06/24 – 4pm

Sunshine Stars (Ondo) Vs Kano Pillars (Kano) – FCT-Area 3 – 05/06/24 – 4pm  

Continue Reading


How are the mighty fallen! Big names crash at President Federation Cup



Only three Nigeria Premier League clubs are able to make it to the quarter-finals of the President Federation Cup following spate of upset recorded on Wednesday at the Round of 16.

Seventeen of the elite clubs entered into the national finals but only three of them remain. The figure is destined to reduce to at least two when the quarter finals are played.

 Kano Pillars will face fellow NPFL sides, Sunshine Stars. Further upsets could still be recorded as another Premier League sides, Abia Warriors will face Sokoto United.  

 Akwa United, struggling hard to evade relegation in the league fell 1-0 to Kebbi United in the Round of 16 just as Shooting Stars were shut out 1-0  by El Kanemi Warriors.

 The biggest elephants that fell were the Enyimba who lost 1-0 to Sokoto United. Rivers United lost 1-0 also to fellow NPFL sides, Sunshine Stars.


President Federation Cup: MEN’S ROUND OF 16 RESULTS

Wikki Tourists (Bauchi) 0-1 EFCC FC (FCT)

Kebbi United (Kebbi) 1-0 Akwa United (Akwa Ibom)  

El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) 1-0 Shooting Stars (Oyo)

Ikorodu City (Lagos) 1-1 Inter Lagos (Lagos) – Inter Lagos win 5-4 on penalties


Kwara United (Kwara) 1-1 Abia Warriors (Abia) – Abia Warriors win 4-3 on penalties

Sokoto United (Sokoto) 1-0 Enyimba (Abia)

Sunshine Stars (Ondo) 1-0 Rivers United (Rivers)

Katsina United (Katsina) 1-1 Kano Pillars (Kano) – Kano Pillars win 8-7 on penalties

Quarter-Final Pairings


EFCC FC (FCT) Vs Kebbi United (Kebbi)

El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) Vs Inter Lagos (Lagos)

Abia Warriors (Abia) Vs Sokoto United (Sokoto)

Sunshine Stars (Ondo) Vs Kano Pillars (Kano)

President Federation Cup: WOMEN’S ROUND OF 16 RESULTS


Bayelsa Queens (Bayelsa) 1-1 Nasarawa Amazons (Nasarawa) – Nasarawa Amazons win 6-5 on penalties  

Dannaz Ladies (Lagos) 0-1 Remo Ladies (Ogun)

Abia Angels (Abia) 0-4 Naija Ratels (FCT) – Benin City  

Heartland Queens (Imo) 0-2 FC Robo Queens (Lagos)  

Kwara Ladies (Kwara) 0-7 Delta Queens (Delta)  


Sunshine Queens (Ondo) 2-0 Honey Badgers (Benue)  

Osun Babes (Osun) 1-1 Confluence Queens (Kogi) – Osun Babes win 4-3 on penalties

Edo Queens (Edo) 1-4 Rivers Angels (Rivers)

Quarter-Final Pairings

Nasarawa Amazons (Nasarawa) Vs Remo Stars Ladies (Ogun)


Naija Ratels (FCT) Vs FC Robo Queens (Lagos)

Delta Queens (Delta) Vs Sunshine Queens (Ondo)

Osun Babes (Osun) Vs Rivers Angels (Rivers)

Continue Reading

Most Viewed