Connect with us


Enyimba in another crunchy duel as Federation Cup enters Round of 32



Four time Federation Cup winners, Enyimba have been handed another potentially tough fixture as the 2023 Federation Cup enters the Round of 32.

The Aba Elephants had survived a Premier League side, Rivers United in the Round of 64 and again still have another Premier League side, Plateau United to face.

Plateau United side broke the jinx that apparently afflicted Jos in the national cup when they won the then FA Cup in 1999. Twice in 1993 and 1998, they were runners up.

The Enyimba – Plateau United duel will hold on Wednesday at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin.

At the NFF/FIFA Goal Project in Abuja, multi-titlists Rangers International of Enugu will do battle with Kano Pillars, while the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano plays host to the potentially-explosive encounter between Mighty Jets of Jos and Gombe United FC.


A total of 16 matches will be disputed in the men’s category, all scheduled for Wednesday, while seven matches will be played in the women’s competition with Bayelsa Queens having reached the last eight without kicking a ball, following the unfortunate accident involving opponents Dannaz Ladies.

In Lokoja, Nasarawa Amazons – one of the establishment – will clash with Naija Ratels of FCT in a match slated for Thursday as the six other matches in the women’s competition.

FC Robo Queens of Lagos will make it a date with Royal Queens of Delta State in Awka while Rivers Angels are up against Osun Babes in Warri.  


  • Heartland FC (Imo) Vs Essien Ayi FC (Cross River) – Awka – 10/05/23 – 2pm
  • Ahudiya (Abia) Vs Bendel Insurance (Edo) – Calabar – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Standard FC (Kaduna) Vs Sunshine Stars (Ondo) – Lokoja – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • EFCC FC (FCT) Vs Akwa United (Akwa Ibom) – Awka – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Warri Wolves (Delta) Vs 3SC (Oyo) – Owerri – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Mighty Jets (Plateau) Vs Gombe United (Gombe) – Kano – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Osun United (Osun) Vs Insurance Feeders (Edo) – Lagos – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Cynosure FC (Ebonyi) Vs Lobi Stars (Benue) – Abuja Area 3 – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Plateau United (Plateau) Vs Enyimba FC – Benin City – 10/05/23
  • Ingas FC (Enugu) Vs El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno) – Kaduna – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Nasarawa United (Nasarawa) Vs DMD FC (Borno) – Bauchi – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Ikorodu City (Lagos) Vs Kwara United (Kwara) – Osogbo – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • FC Ebedei (Ekiti) Vs Igbajo FC (Osun) – Ibadan – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • Rangers Int’l (Enugu) Vs Kano Pillars (Kano) – Abuja Goal Project – 10/05/23 – 4pm
  • FR Ebunuja (Imo) Vs Doma United (Gombe) – Abuja Area 3 – 10/05/23 – 2pm
  • Edel FC (Anambra) Vs Mailantarki FC (FCT) – Akure – 10/05/23 – 4pm


  • Bayelsa Queens Vs Dannaz Ladies (Dannaz Ladies were involved in an accident cannot continue in the competition)
  • Fortress FC (Edo) Vs Honey Badgers (Benue) – Lokoja – 11/05/23 – 2pm
  • Heartland Queens (Imo) Vs Lakeside Queens (Ogun) – Warri – 11/05/23 – 2pm
  • Edo Queens (Edo) Vs Maureen Mmadu FC (Abia) – Calabar – 11/05/23 – 4pm
  • Robo Queens (Lagos) Vs Royal Queens (Delta) – Awka – 11/05/23 – 4pm
  • Nasarawa Amazons (Nasarawa) Vs Naija Ratels (FCT) – Lokoja – 11/05/23 – 4pm
  • Rivers Angels (Rivers) Vs Osun Babes (Osun) – Warri – 11/05/23 – 4pm
  • Moje Queens (Kwara) Vs Delta Queens (Delta) – Lagos – 11/05/23 – 4pm

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading