Connect with us


Asisat Oshoala is Africa’s best woman footballer for the fifth time



Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala was on Thursday in Rabat, Morocco named the African best lady footballer.  It is her fifth time of winning. She is the only person linked to Nigeria football that made it to the podium.

In winning, she has become the first person to win a CAF Award five times. In addition, she also won the 2015 Youth Player Awards to take her haul to six.

The Nigerian superstar has been crowned winner in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019 and thus equalled the record of compatriot Perpetua Nkwocha who had been decorated four times – 2004, 2005, 2010, 2011.

In winning a fifth time, Oshoala has set a record that will take a while to equal, let alone to beat.

Besides her and Nkwocha, the next person to have won more than once is another Nigerian player, Cynthia Uwak who won twice. All other players – Alberta Sankey (Ghana), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa), Gaëlle Deborah Enganamouit (Cameroon), Genoveva Añonman Nze (Equatorial Guinea) have wone once each and most are retired. 


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: