Normalcy returns to Badminton Federation…Francis Orbih re-elected President

Normalcy returns to Badminton Federation…Francis Orbih re-elected President
User Rating: 3.4 (1 votes)

The last of the over 30 sports federations in Nigeria has now been inaugurated as normalcy returned to the previously troubled Badminton Federation of Nigeria.

On Thursday afternoon in Abuja, the Federation’s executive board was formally inaugurated, nearly five months after board members won their respective elections from the zones.

But litigation stopped the inauguration which was supposed to have held on 9 October 2021 long with the other 29 sports associations under the aegis of the Ministry of Sports.

Sports Village Square learnt that the petitioners later withdrew the case after the intervention of eminent people in the Nigerian badminton family.

That paved way for internal election of the executive members and led to the inauguration of the board by the Minister of Sports, Sunday Dare who was represented by  Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar , the Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Youth and Sports.

The minister is in Kumasi with the Super Eagles who have a World Cup play-off duel with Ghana Black Stars.

Elected and immediately sworn-in is Francis Orbih, a lawyer who also headed the immediate past board. He was elected unopposed. Like the president, Maina Mohammed also had the acclamation of the 10 executive members, thus getting into office unopposed.

With them on board are:  Lawal Yusuf Bello (North East) ,  Shehu Sulyman Warah  (North Central),  Mrs. Obiageli  Catherine  Solaja (South East)  Tangbe Felix Awala (South-South), Grace Gabriel  (Athletes Reps), Esther Gidado (NAWIS), Tunde Kazeem (NAPHER-SD,  Malik Anas Sponsor/Philanthropist / Ex-Offico Etuku Institutional Rep, George Shitta (Technical Rep).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.