Connect with us

Governing Bodies

FIFA The Best Award: Ahmed Musa voted for Lewandowski and Salah




The revelation of the voting at the FIFA The Best Awards has shown that Nigeria’s skipper, Ahmed Musa voted for Polish star and eventual winner, Robert Lewandowski.

His second choice was Egypt’s Mohamed Salah while the third was Jorginho.

In the voting by the coaches, Salisu Yusuf voted for Nigeria. He voted Jorginho first and followed with Lionel Messi and Kevin De Bruyne.

Among the prospect winners, only the eventual winner, Lewandowski voted for his two possible rivals, Messi and Ronaldo whom he voted second and third respectively.

Messi did not vote for any of his possible rivals, Ronaldo and Lewandowski. Instead, as captain of Argentina, he voted his two clubmates at PSG, Neymar and  Kylian Mbappe while his third vote was for Karim Benzema.


Ronaldo as captain of Portugal voted Robert Lewandowski first and followed with N’golo Kante and Jorginho.  

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading