Connect with us

International Football

Video: Jubilation in Cameroon as football legend, Eto’o wins football federation election



African football legend, Samuel Eto’o, begins a new career in football administration this Saturday as he has been elected as President of Cameroon’s football body, Fecafoot.  

He thus becomes the 17th person to rule one of the football power houses of Africa. One of the previous presidents of Fecafoot was Issa Hayatou who used the platform to launch himself into both continental and global football administration.

A total of five candidates stood for the election. Three others threw in the towel at the last minute to declare their support for Samuel Eto’o to make it a two horse race.

Eto’o competed against the incumbent, Seidou Mbombo Njoya. The football legend won 43 to 31 votes.

Samuel Eto’o jumped up in jubilation as soon as he was pronounced the winner.

Elections are still ongoing for members of the Executive bureau.



 Chronology of past Fecafoot presidents des présidents de la Fecafoot


·       1958-1960: Ngankou Amos


·       1961-1968 Ibrahim Mbombo Njoya


·       1968-1972 : René Essomba


·       1972-1978 : Jean Zoa Amougou



·       1978-1985 : M. Titti


·       1986- : Peter Ntamack Yana


·       1986-1988 : Issa Ayatou



·       1988-1989 : Nji Njikam (interim)


·       1989-1993: Robert Etotoké



·       1993-1996 : Maha Dayer


·       1996-1998 : Vincent Onana

·       1998-2000 : executive cell headed by Iya Mohamed


·       2000-2013: Iya Mohamed



·       2013-2015: Normalisation committee headed by Prof. Joseph Owona


·       2015-2017: Tombi À Roko Sidiki


·       2017-2018: Normalisation committee headed by Dieudonné Happi



·       2018-2021: Seidou Mbombo Njoya


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading