Connect with us


2022 Access Bank Lagos City Marathon: Registration commences on Monday



The registration process for the 2022 Access Bank Lagos City Marathon will be commencing on Monday, November 1, 2021 organisers have confirmed

Interested participants in the February 12, 2022 race will have the chance to register online or by picking hard copy forms at the Marathon Office inside the Teslim Balogun Stadium.

The forms for the 2022 race will also be made available in selected Access Bank branches. 

According to a press statement issued by Olukayode Thomas, Head of Communication and Media for the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon, unlike the last edition which was restricted to only elite runners, the 2022 race will be open for all; including fun runners in the 10km category.

Thomas explained that across the world, road races have since returned to full capacity after the initial reduction in the number of participants and outright cancellations occasioned by the coronavirus pandemic.

He said “Yes, we are back to full capacity just like the other top races across the world. With the return of the 10km fun run, we should be having close to 80,000-100,000 participants at the seventh edition of our yearly race”.


Already seen as the biggest one-day event on the continent, the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon is set to become the first marathon in Nigeria to organize the 7th edition. 

The Access Bank Lagos City Marathon is also the first race to win a World Athletics Bronze Label in Africa after two editions and the first in the world to win the prestigious Silver Label after four editions. 

In terms of prize money, the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon ranks among the top 10 in the world and in terms of the number of participants, the Lagos race is proudly among the top five in the world.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading