Connect with us

Governing Bodies

Ogun FA unfolds plans for a two-in-one Adebutu tournament



It is double tournament as the Ogun State Football Association unfolds plans to conclude the 2020 edition of the Kessington Adebukunola Adebutu Foundation (KAAF) age grade tournament and begin the preliminaries for the 2021 edition.

According to the Chairman of the FA, Ganiyu Majekodunmi ,  the date for the final of the delayed 2020 edition is now awaiting the approval of the sponsor, Chief Kessington Adebukunola Adebutu.

He said “We are all elated that finally we will have the 2020 finals, it was nobody’s fault that Covid-19 proved to be a stumbling block, and thankfully, football is back and we are looking forward to our own annual ritual”.

“On the part of the state FA, we have concluded plans to stage the final, once our sponsor Baba Adebutu gives us the green light, the finals in the male and female categories will take centre stage”.

“For the 2021 edition, we plan to have the final sometime in October to commemorate the 86th birthday of Chief Kessington Adebukunola Adebutu, we have our plans mapped out already so once we get the go ahead, it will be football all through the year”.

Majekodunmi who is an executive board member of the Nigeria Football Federation extolled Baba Adebutu who has single handedly footed the bills over the years for the age grade tournament and appreciated him for his giant strides towards the development of football in the Gateway state.


He assured that the 2020 finals will be bigger and confirmed that a press conference will herald the grand finale which is scheduled for the Gateway International stadium, Sagamu Ogun State.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading