User Rating: 0 (0 votes)

Sports journalism received a rare honour in Nigeria as the pioneer owner of sports radio station in the country, Dr Larry Izamoje is named among the 60 sports icons in the country.

Izamoje pioneered specialised sports radio in the country when he launched his Brila FM radio station in Lagos in 2002. The station now has branches in Kaduna, Abuja and Onitsha.

Another media man that made the list is the legendry sportscaster, Ernest Okonkwo who died 30 years ago. He made commentaries on radio a delight in his life time.

The remaining 58 icons comprise of the usual suspects. Members of the Super Eagles teams of 1980, 1994, Atlanta 1996 as well as track and Field and boxing dominated the list that was unveiled during the celebration of Nigeria’s most outstanding sports icons of the last sixty years. 

The event took place at the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium Abuja this Friday.

According to a press release from the media aide to the Nigerian sports minister, the icons will have their pictures on display for 60 days.

According to the  votes  cast to pick the stars through  various  platforms, mercurial  Super Eagles  players like Nwankwo  Kanu, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, Daniel Amokachi, Garba Lawal, Emmanuel  Amuneke of the famed  1994 and Atlanta 1996 Dream Team were selected by a wide spectrum  of Nigerians.

Also selected are the 1980 Green Eagles that won Nigeria’s maiden Nations Cup on home soil with team captain Christian Chukwu and Segun Odegbami  listed individually.

Emmanuel Okala and Mudashiru Lawal were also picked as symbols of the 1980 Green Eagles.  

The Golden Eaglets of 1985 that paraded the likes of Nduka Ugbade, Victor  Igbinoba and coached by  Sebastian Brodricks – Imasuen were also recognised. 

Nigerian first Olympics  medallist Nojeem Maiyegun,  first individual  gold medallist, Chioma Ajunwa and  Mary Onyali were listed.

Also on the list are legendary footballer, Tesilimi Balogun, Sunday Bada, Olawunmi Majekodunmi, Samuel Igun as well as world boxing champions Horgan Kid Bassey and Dick Tiger.

Most of the selected icons were either Olympic medallists or winners at the Commonwealth Games. Chidi Imoh and Odunayo  Adekuruoye also made the list.

Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Moshood  Abiola and Chief Adebutu Kesington  among others also made the icons list as sports philanthropists.

Below are the names of the unveiled 60 Sports Icons

1. Chioma Ajunwa 

2. Mary Onyali

3. Jighere Wellington

4. Odion Aikhoje

5. Duncan Dokiware

6. Austin Okocha

7. Kanu Nwankwo 

8. Feyisetan Are

9. Blessing Okagbare

10. Garba Lawal

11. Lucy Ejike

12. Falilat Ogunkoya/Atlanta 96 Women’s 4x400m Quartet

13. Sunday Bada/Sydney 2000 Men’s 4x400m Quartet

14. Football Dream Team, Atlanta 1996 Olympics

15. Emmanuel Amunike

16. Chika Chukwumeriji

17. Davidson Ezinwa

18. Odunayo Adekuoroye

19. Modupe Oshikoya

20. Peter Konyegwachie

21. Olusoji Fasuba

22. Nduka Ugbade/Sebastine Broadricks Emasuen/1985 GOLDEN EAGLETS

23. Hogan Bassey

24. Dick Tiger

25. Samuel Peters

26. Barcelona 92′ quartet (Men’s 4x100m Relay)

27. Funke Oshonaike

28. Segun Odegbami

29. D’Tigress

30. Segun Toriola

31. Roland Ezuruike

32. Mayegun Nojeem


34. Israel Adesanya

35. Super Eagles 1994

36. Olumide Oyedeji

37. Blessing Oborududu

38. Tompraba Grikpa

39. Chidi Imoh

40. Christian Chukwu 

41. Ajibola Adeoye

42. Stephen Keshi

43. Atanda Musa

44. Muda Lawal/Emmanuel Okala/Green Eagles 1980

45. Daniel Amokachi

46. Rashidi Yekini

47. Teslim Thunder Balogun

48. Perpetual Nkwocha

49. Super Falcons

50. Power Mike

51. Flora Ugwunwa

52. Lauretta Onye

53. Sam Okwaraji

54. Nduka Odizor

55. David Izonrite

56. Chief MKO Abiola

57. Dr. Larry Izamoje

58. Mazi. Ernest Okonkwo

59. Alh. Aliko Dangote

60. Chief Sir Kesington Adebutu

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.