Connect with us

Governing Bodies




Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari will be the first inductee into the Hall of Fame being packaged by the Ministry of Sports.

This came to light at the inauguration of a 10-man committee to shortlist the inductees.

Among the four-point agenda given to the committee is the   successful induction of President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, into the Sports Hall of Fame for being the first world leader whose country won the U-17 FIFA World Cup twice while in office (1985 and 2015) being World Record”

Buhari as Military Head of State received the victorious Golden Eaglets in 1985

Dans Adokiye a Deputy Director in the Planning Monitoring & Information Department of the sports ministry heads the committee.

According to a press release by the ministry, it is the quest to promote and expand the virtues of legacy and mentorship associated with establishing a Sports Hall of Fame similar to other climes that informed the establishment of the project.

It was stated that the Nigerian Government through the Ministry of Youth and Sports Development is resolutely committed to commission/launch a bespoke world class befitting Sports Hall of Fame, that would immortalize the country’s sportsmen and women, who have served and brought honour to their fatherland.


At the inauguration of the committee, the minister, Sunday Dare, was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Gabriel Aduda.

Members of the Hall of Fame committee at the body’s inauguration

The committee is also tasked to produce a framework for the launching of the Sports Hall of Fame and a second edition of Nigeria sports books of records.

Other activities expected include the raising of funds through donations and sponsorships for the project and to suggest names of prominent Nigerians who have played vital roles in the development of sports in Nigeria.

Apart from the chairman of the committee, Dans Adokiye, the other members are:

Chinwe Osuji, who represents T.V. Enterprises; Mary Onyali an assistant to the minister, Ademu Elijah, representing the FEADs Depatment; Blessing Lere-Adams, the Director Press Department Gloria Ekwepu, representing the Grassroots Department; Nichols Kwanta representing African Image; E.O. Oladapo representing the  Facilities Department; Okonofua rom the  Permanent Secretary’s office and Soliu Adebisi of the Accounts Department.


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading