Connect with us

International Football




The Super Eagles’ 2018 kit has been voted fifth among the iconic football shirts worldwide across all generations. That is the outcome of the 24-hour poll conducted by BBC sports website.

The shirt was beaten by those of Brazil (1970); Netherlands (1988); West Germany (1990) and England (1966) in the top four places.

The Nigerian shirt had nine per cent of total votes cast whereas the winning shirt, that of Brazil, had 14%. England in the fourth place had 10%, just one to pip Nigeria to the fourth place.

The result also revealed that on-field results, rather than the appearances of the shirts, were the major determinants. The shirts of the winning teams of the competitions won the top four shirts.

Brazil, which topped, had a milestone third victory of the World Cup in 1970.The shirt is very similar to most other Brazil kits, but this one is a retro classic. Worn by one of the greatest, if not the greatest international team we’ve ever seen.

The kit was worn by the legendary 1970 World Cup-winning side and was the last shirt Pele sported before retiring from international duty.


In the second place is the shirt of Netherlands, which the team put on to win the European Championship for the first time. In the third position is the shirt won by the then West Germany to win the World Cup at Italia ’90.

A reminder of the results:

20. Mexico 1978

19. Belgium 1984

18. Colombia 1990


17. Barcelona 1997

16. Cameroon 2002

15. England women 2019

14. Boca Juniors 1981

13. Denmark 1986


12. Chelsea 1970

11. England 1990

10. Man Utd 1990

9. Ajax 1971

8. Liverpool 1984


7. Arsenal 1991

6. Celtic 1967

5. Nigeria 2018

4. England 1966

3. West Germany 1990


2.Netherlands 1988

1.Brazil 1970

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading