Connect with us

Governing Bodies




The dream of Nigeria hosting of FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in 2020 has finally evaporated.


FIFA inspection team was in Nigeria for evaluation of facilities in Lagos, Benin, Asaba and Uyo last August.

The preliminary report of the team was never disclosed.


Later, another FIFA team visited Costa Rica and Panama.

Following further discussions with the two member associations, the Bureau of the FIFA Council has now confirmed that the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2020 will be played in August in Costa Rica and Panama.


The 16 participating teams will be divided into four groups of four with the best two of each group advancing to the quarterfinals.

This will be the first ever co-hosting of a FIFA youth tournament and the second co-hosting of a FIFA tournament since the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan.

The number of stadiums to be used for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica and Panama 2020 will be discussed and confirmed with the two member associations. Details on the tournament’s time frame and match schedule will follow.

“We would like to thank the Costa Rican and Panamanian football associations for their commitment towards women’s football and the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in particular.

“We are looking forward to a fantastic competition in August,” said FIFA’s Chief Tournaments and Events Officer Colin Smith.


“After the highly successful FIFA Women’s World Cup in France this year, it is important that we build on the momentum at all levels of the game. The U20WWC in Costa Rica and Panama next year is a perfect opportunity for us to continue driving the popularity of the game and with it being the first jointly hosted tournament – we can make the impact even greater,” said Sarai Bareman, FIFA’s Chief Women’s Football Officer.


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and the country’s most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright Notice: Extra Time Communications Ltd grants permission to use quotations from materials on this site subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.