Connect with us

Nigerian Football




Sunshine Stars striker, Israel Abia, appears to be the man to beat as he has taken an early lead in the race for the prestigious 2020 Eunisell Boot.

West Africa’s largest independent chemical, oil, gas and engineering Solutions Company, established the award for players in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Abia was not amongst the contenders listed pre-season, but he has displayed business approach to become a serious contender with seven goals after nine match days.

Junior Lokosa set a 19-goal mark after 21 match days to claim the inaugural Eunisell Boot, while the abridged league limited the duo of Mfon Udoh and Sunusi Ibrahim to 10 goals last term.

With the league back to its 38-match day structure, expect a harvest of goals from the men in front of goals.


Abia’s consistency in front of goal gives the impression of a striker ready to set a new Eunisell Boot record.

Firstly, he is the only player to bang in four goals in one match in the Eunisell Boot era and has scored in consecutive matches at Adamawa United and against MFM at home to take his tally to seven goals.

Enyimba’s Victor Mbaoma is chasing Abia with five goals.

Mbaoma has a goal scoring record at his former club, Remo Stars, and looks like the new Joetex Frimpong at Enyimba.

NPFL rookie, Isaac George, of newly promoted Dakkada has forced his way into the race with four goals.


Akwa United’s hattrick hero, Ndifreke Effiong, Katsina United’s Tasiu Lawal, Lobi Stars’ Sikiri Alimi, Abia Warriors’ Jimoh Oni and Plateau United’s Ibrahim Mustapha are also on four goals.

With each goal valued at N200, 000, Eunisell believes players deserve to be celebrated to boost interest and followership in the NPFL.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading