Connect with us

Nigerian Football






Like a true sportsman, one of the dropped Super Eagles’ players, Stephen Eze has accepted his fate in good spirit,  Even though the list of the 23 players that made the cut has not been officially released, it has been trending on the social media and has been an open secret.

Eze posted on his instagram page, thanking the coach and the NFF and wishing the other players a successful outing in Russia.

The message in full reads: “Sadly, my journey to the World Cup ends here. I am disappointed not to make the final squad, but I want to thank our coach and Management for the opportunity!


“I wish my team the best and hope to join in celebrations when they bring the trophy home! Go #NIGERIA!”

Meanwhile, the NFF has used its twitter handle to announce the 23 players who are London-bound. They are joined by the injured Moses Simon, whose inclusion is for medical reasons.

The 23 players are: Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Francis Uzoho, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Leon Balogun, William Ekong-Troost, Chidozie Awaziem, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi and Kenneth Omeruo.

The others are: Bryan Idowu, Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Oghenekaro Etebo, Mikel Agu, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwob and Ahmed Musa. London-domiciled Victor Moses will join the team.


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading