BARCA MAN, COUTINHO COULD STILL GET CHAMPIONS LEAGUE MEDAL THROUGH THE BACK DOOR

BARCA MAN, COUTINHO COULD STILL GET CHAMPIONS LEAGUE MEDAL THROUGH THE BACK DOOR

If Liverpool claims the Champions League trophy, Brazil’s Philippe Coutinho will get a medal. Surprisingly, he could still be named as a Champions League winner, despite Barcelona were knocked out of the tournament after losing to Roma at Stadio Olimpico 3-0 (4-4 on aggregate).

The Brazilian remains cup-tied as he participated for Liverpool in the competition (played five games and scored five goals).

UEFA rules state: “The winning team is presented with forty gold medals and the runner-up with forty silver medals. Additional medals may not be produced.”

Thus, if Liverpool claim the trophy for the sixth time in their history, Coutinho will get his prize as a part of a winning team.

 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.