Connect with us

Other Sports

Petitions and Appeals Committee Sets Thursday for Verdict



The Petitions and Appeals Committee for the National Sports Federations Elections in Nigeria will submit its finding on Thursday, a member of the panel told Sports Village Square.

According to the source, the committee which began sitting last Wednesday received 20 petitions from 11 sports federations. None was received from the Nigeria Basketball Federation which has two factions.

Sports Village Square gathered that the Athletics Federation of Nigeria has the highest petitioners of six. They include Brown Ebewele and Henry Amike who was disqualified on the ground that he did not submit means of identification and lacked constituency.

Also petitioning is Rosa Collins Okah from the South South constituency who was disqualified on account of improper tax clearance and non-submission of declaration of age.

Also on the list of petitioners is Charity Asonze Opara. The remaining 14 petitions are from 10 other sports federations. They are table tennis, kick boxing, gymnastics, cricket, weightlifting, volleyball, handball, judo, traditional sports and taekwondo.


The electoral guidelines stipulate that all appeals shall be submitted with a non-refundable fee of N50, 000 at the zonal level and N100, 000 at the national level.

A source in the sports electoral panel informed Sports Village Square that the petitions would be addressed with dispatch and so that the sports ministry can fix dates for bye elections if there is any need and to give at least three day notice to delegate to assemble.

The inauguration of the various boards is fixed for July 13, even though the faction of the NBBF that had election in Kano has already got itself inaugurated.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading