Connect with us

Nigerian Football

Honour’s SWAN Honours Pinnick



Honour again came the way of President of Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick on Thursday, as the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) presented him with a Merit Award. The body of sports writers in Nigeria is headed by Honour Sirawoo who has decided to honour the NFF president.
The occasion was the 53rd Full Council Meeting of SWAN, holding on World Press Freedom week at the expansive ambience of the Yankari Games Reserve, Bauchi in norther Nigeria.
It was attended by a galaxy of prominent political leaders and football chieftains, among them Bauchi State Governor Mohammed Abubakar and members of his cabinet. There were also former NFF General Secretary and two –term member of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Sani Ahmed Toro and Chairman of NPFL club Wikki Tourists, Alhaji Isa Musa Matori.
In presenting the award to the NFF supremo, SWAN President Honour Sirawoo said “the sports writing fraternity in our great country is proud of your outstanding support to the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, and contributions to sports development in Nigeria.”
NFF’s Director of Media and Communications, Ademola Olajire, who collected the award on behalf of Pinnick, said the new member of the Executive Committee of Confederation of African Football remained committed to providing even greater support and encouragement to the nation’s sports –writing family.
Pinnick, whose 31 –month old administration has brought honours to Nigeria in the shape of FIFA U17 World Cup, Africa U23 Cup of Nations, two Africa Women Cup of Nations titles and Olympic bronze medal, is also the vice president of the West Africa B Union and a member of the Organizing Committee for FIFA Competitions.

Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and the country’s most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright Notice: Extra Time Communications Ltd grants permission to use quotations from materials on this site subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.