Costa Escapes FA Punishment

Costa Escapes FA Punishment

Diego Costa will not face any retrospective FA punishment for his apparent kick at Vincent Kompany. Reports monitored in British tabloids revealed
there were fears the Chelsea striker could face a ban over the clash with Manchester City’s captain in the 70th minute of Wednesday night’s match, which ended in a 2-1 win for Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
However, referee Mike Dean saw the incident and dealt with it at the time meaning Costa is in the clear.
The incident happened in the 70th minute and Costa could face retrospective action
Football Association chiefs awaited referee Dean’s report before deciding whether to investigate the incident, but the Chelsea striker’s fears of a potential suspension have been allayed.
Chelsea manager, Antonio Conte, though, played down the incident, saying: ‘I didn’t see it, but during the game it’s very difficult. Yes, you see this kind of contact but it’s impossible to tell, to judge this kind of contact.’
Former Liverpool midfielder Danny Murphy and Arsenal striker Ian Wright both agreed on BBC’s Match of the Day that it would be harsh if Costa faced disciplinary action.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.