Connect with us

Other Sports

Asaba 2018 Africa Athletics Championships Gets LOC




Determined to organize a championship that will be revered by all, Asaba, the host city of the 2018 African Senior Athletics Championships, on Thursday, named a 17-member Local Organizing Committee (LOC) to midwife the championships slated for next summer.

The President of Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) Solomon Ogba, heads the LOC while Tony Okowa, the Executive Chairman, Delta State Sports Commission is the Executive Vice Chairman.

Two time African champion in long jump who set an African record in the 1989 edition of the African Senior Athletics Championships in Lagos ’89, Yussuf Alli, is also a member of the committee.

The company that ordered the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon, Nilayo Sports Management Limited is saddled with the responsibility of marketing the championship. The company Managing Director, Bukola Olopade, is a member of the LOC.


African record holder in women 400m, Falilat Ogunkoya, Hauwa Akinyemi, a Director in the Ministry of Sports, Omatseye Nesiama, Chris Anazia, Victor Onogagamue, Uboh Queen, Porbeni Seigha and Olumide Bamiduro  are also on the list.

Others include Olukayode Thomas, Nneka Anibeze, Director of CAA High Performance Center in University of Port Harcourt Ken Anugweje; Clem Ofuani    also made the 17 man list which has Amaechi Akawo, AFN Secretary General, as secretary.

Meanwhile, the President of AFN Solomon Ogba has been appointed as CAA Scrutineer for the IAAF Congress holding in London, England on August 2, 2017.

In a letter signed by Lamine Faty, CAA Secretary General, Ogba was congratulated on his new appointment and urged to show the commitment, passion, and zeal he has shown in previous appointments.


Kunle Solaja is the author of landmark books on sports and journalism as well as being a multiple award-winning journalist and editor of long standing. He is easily Nigeria’s foremost soccer diarist and Africa's most capped FIFA World Cup journalist, having attended all FIFA World Cup finals from Italia ’90 to Qatar 2022. He was honoured at the Qatar 2022 World Cup by FIFA and AIPS.

Continue Reading