Two Uncapped Make Super Eagles’ List

Two Uncapped Make Super Eagles’ List

By Kunle Solaja


Nigeria’s manager, Gernot Rohr has picked two uncapped players to join 20 others as the Super Eagles prepare for two friendly matches in London this month against Senegal and Burkina Faso in London.

Defender, Tyronne Ebuehi of Dutch side, ADO Den Haag and Noah Joel Bazee, a striker for German side, Hannover 96 are the latest addition as the Franco-German coach prepares the team for five highly competitive qualifying matches this year.

The two friendly games are to serve as dress rehearsals for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa and the 2018 World Cup ticket back-to-back duels with Cameroon and two others with Zambia and Algeria.

Tyronne Ebuehi, who made his debut in the Eredivisie which is the top division league of The Netherlands on August 10, 2014 had earlier declined to play for Nigeria.

Noah Joel Bazee who was born on August 21, 1996, the day the NFF clocked 63, made his debut for Hannover 96 on April 8 last year.

In the list released Tuesday by the Communication Department of the NFF, in-form Wilfred Ndidi is tipped to take the place of Skipper Mikel Obi who has been excused from the friendly matches in order to allow him settle with his new Chinese club.

Goalkeeper Carl Ikeme who missed out in the last World Cup qualifying match with Algeria owing to injury is back in the team.

He is joined by other regulars like midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and forwards Ahmed Musa as well as Kelechi Iheanacho.

Also included are home –based goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Leon Balogun and William Ekong, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Victor Moses, Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon.

Experienced left back Elderson Echiejile, Portugal –based Chidozie Awaziem, Israel –based John Ogu and Watford FC of England forward Isaac Success are also called. Record top scorer at the FIFA U-17 World Cup, Victor Osimhen is also back in the squad.

The Super Eagles will be up against Senegal’s Teranga Lions on Thursday, 23rd March before taking on the Etalons of Burkina Faso four days later. Both matches will be played at The Hive, home ground of Barnet Football Club.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (FC Zeljeznicar, Bosnia Herzegovina); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Kingsley Madu (Zulte Waregem, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Joel Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.