Cycling: Team Nigeria promises medals haul in Luxor, Egypt

Cycling: Team Nigeria promises medals haul in Luxor, Egypt

Nigeria’s Cycling team to the African Continental Road Championship billed for Luxor, Egypt are looking forward to win medals for the country in the biggest Cycling Championship in the continent.


The event holds from Tuesday 14th to Sunday 19th February, 2017.


Nigeria who are making their second appearance in the championship since it began in 2005 are competing in the Team Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and the Road race, in the male and female categories.



The team is led by the first ‘Iron Man’ in the continent Coach Miebaka Aggo who is also an Assistant coach with the Rivers State Cycling Association and a Director Lifestyle Cycling Club Port Harcourt.


The Rivers State born coach who spoke to NTA Sports immediately after their last training session in Abuja on Thursday said the championship will be tough.


“We are set for the championship in Egypt, the biggest Cycling Championship in Africa, where the best riders who ride in Tour du France come to represent their countries.


“It can be said to be tougher than the Olympics with the likes of defending champions, Morocco in the Individual Time Trial, Eritrea in the Team Time Trial and Rwanda in the Road Race at the 2016 edition, South Africa is not an underdog too, this competition is the strongest, it can only be compared to the Africa Cup of Nations in Football.”


Miebaka who has been made the National coach for this Championship assured Nigerians and the Nigeria Cycling Federation that they will make the country proud.


“We are going to Egypt with our strongest team.


“The monthly Port Harcourt Criterium Race and the National Cycling Sports Festival held from 1st to 4th December, 2016 also aided our preparations and selection of the team, so we are prepared,” Miebaka said.


The team who made their first appearance in 2013 is made up of 8 athletes, 4 males and 4 females.


The Athletes who arrived in Egypt on Saturday left the country on Friday from the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport, Abuja and are expected to return on Monday 20th February, 2017.




Full Team


  1. Emmanuel Innocent James


  1. John Preye Dede


  1. Eyo Effiok(Captain)


  1. Ajibade Qodriln


  1. Rita Aggo(Female)


  1. Tombrapa Grippa (Female)


  1. Gloria Odiase(All Africa Games Gold medallist, Female)


  1. Jacinta Okorie (Junior Female)


  1. Miebaka Aggo (National Coach)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.